Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Latest News

Athens Clarke County Voting to Move Extension Office To Far Side of the County

Tuesday, August 02, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Jennifer Addington
Share |

 

 

Athens-Clarke County Extension Office

Possible Move to Cleveland Road Area

acc logo

Reminder: The Athens Clarke County Commission is considering moving the County Extension office from their current location on Broad St to a site off Cleveland Road.  There are very legitimate concerns that moving the office far out to the western side of the county will leave a large population undeserved. Some commissioners have suggested that residents on the east side of the county can easily hop on the loop to access the new office. If you've been in the Cleveland Rd. area recently you'll know that this isn't quite as simple as it's made out to be and that traffic in the area can be very heavy and slow. 

If you feel that the Extension office is better suited in it's current area, you are

Cooperative Ext

encouraged to reach out out to your ACC Commissioner or to the entire group as a whole.

Let them know that you moving Extension to the far reaches of the county is not acceptable and will make it more difficult for Extension to serve all residents of Athens-Clarke County. 

 I will submit comments on behalf of GGIA later this afternoon. An email is perfectly acceptable. A phone call is better and an in person visit is the best. 

For your reference, contact information for the Mayor and Commission is listed below. 

The Commission meets tonight at 7:00 pm at the Courthouse and this issue is on the agenda.
Click here for the county's documentation of the issue. 

Nancy Denson 

Mayor's Office
Title: Mayor
Phone: 706-613-3010; 706-548-2928 
Webpage 
nancy.denson@athensclarkecounty.com

 

Sharyn Dickerson 

Commission
Title: District 1 Commissioner
Phone: 706-613-2416 
sharyn.dickerson@athensclarkecounty.com

 

Harry Sims 

Commission
Title: District 2 Commissioner
Phone: 706-546-1683 
harry.sims@athensclarkecounty.com

 

Melissa Link 

Commission
Title: District 3 Commissioner
Phone: 706-372-3382 
melissa.link@athensclarkecounty.com

 

 

Jared Bailey 

Commission
Title: District 5 Commissioner
Phone: 706-338-9019 
jared.bailey@athensclarkecounty.com

 

Allison Wright 

Commission
Title: District 4 Commissioner
Phone: 706-549-3518 
allison.wright@athensclarkecounty.com

 

Jerry NeSmith 

Commission
Title: District 6 Commissioner
Phone: 706-248-3547 
jerry.nesmith@athensclarkecounty.com

 

Diane Bell 

Commission
Title: District 7 Commissioner
Phone: 706-548-0314 
diane.bell@athensclarkecounty.com

 

Andy Herod 

Commission
Title: District 8 Commissioner
Phone: 706-543-0281 
andy.herod@athensclarkecounty.com

 

Kelly Girtz 

Commission
Title: District 9 Commissioner
Phone: 706-369-9457 
kelly.girtz@athensclarkecounty.com

 

Mike Hamby 

Commission
Title: District 10 Commissioner
Phone: 706-338-3970 
mike.hamby@athensclarkecounty.com

 

 

 

New Logo2

The Georgia Green Industry Association

Online at www.ggia.org Phone: 706-632-0100

P.O. Box 369 Epworth, GA 30541

Serving Georgia's Diverse Green Industry 

 


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership.com®  ::  Legal